Part of the American History and Genealogy Project


Welcome to Wyoming AHGP, unless you are ready to take over as State Coordinator I will be your host for now. My name is Judy White and I am the Webmaster for AHGP.  To learn more about AHGP, please visit our About Page.


Talk of statehood for Wyoming began as early as 1869 after the organization of Wyoming Territory in that year. The road to statehood, however, did not begin until 1888 when the Territorial Assembly sent Congress a petition for admission into the Union. Bills were introduced in both houses of Congress, but did not pass.

Though no legislation passed Congress enabling Wyoming to follow the steps that lead to statehood, Governor Francis E. Warren and others decided to continue as if an "enabling act" had passed. On July 8, 1889, Wyoming Territory held an election of delegates to Wyoming's one and only Constitutional Convention. Forty-nine men gathered in Cheyenne during September, 1889, and wrote the constitution. The voters approved the document November 5, 1889, by a vote of 6,272 to 1,923.

Bills for Wyoming statehood were introduced in both the U.S. Senate and House in December, 1889. The House passed the bill March 27, 1890. President Benjamin Harrison signed Wyoming's statehood bill, making Wyoming the 44th state.

Laramie City, Wyoming Territory <New>
Camp Carlin <New>
Sheep Raising in Wyoming
Stock Raising on the Plains
Laramie Weekly Sentinel
Cheyenne Belles, 1889

Wyoming Counties
County Created Formed Coordinator
Albany 1868 Original  
Big Horn 1896 Sheridan, Johnson, Fremont Counties  
Campbell 1911 Weston and Crook Counties  
Carbon 1868 Original  
Converse 1888 Laramie and Albany Counties  
Crook 1875 Laramie and Albany Counties  
Fremont 1884 Sweetwater County.  
Goshen 1911 Laramie County.  
Hot Springs 1911 Fremont County, Big Horn, Park Counties  
Johnson 1875 Carbon Sweetwater Counties  
Laramie 1867 Original  
Lincoln 1911 Uinta County  
Natrona 1888 Carbon County.  
Niobrara 1911 Converse County  
Park 1909 Big Horn County  
Platte 1911 Laramie County  
Sheridan 1888 Johnson County  
Sublette 1921 Fremont and Lincoln Counties  
Sweetwater 1867 Original  
Teton 1921 Laramie County  
Uinta 1869 Original  
Washakie 1911 Big Horn County  
Weston 1890 Crook County  

Copyright 2011-2014 by Wyoming AHGP
The American History and Genealogy Project.
Enjoy the work of our webmasters, provide a link, do not copy their work.